Does Maryland Have Dram Shop Laws? | What to Know

Serving Maryland, Washington D.C. & Virginia

Start Your Free Consultation

If you were a victim of a DUI, you may want to consider your legal options. Reach out to our skilled firm today to speak with a Prince George’s County personal injury attorney. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.

What are dram shop laws in Maryland?

Dram shop laws are in place to hold the establishment which served the alcohol that caused the injuries or fatalities responsible for the damages caused. These laws allow victims of DUIs to be able to pursue legal action against alcohol retailers and vendors in a civil lawsuit for financial compensation.

Does Maryland have dram shop laws?

No. Maryland is one of eight states that does not have dram shop laws. This means that victims of DUI-related injuries cannot pursue legal action against the bars or retailers that sold drunk drivers their drinks. That does not mean that you are unable to sue someone for damages, because you can. You can file a claim against a drunk person who had injured you, however, you are just unable to sue the vendor which gave them access to the alcohol.

Does Maryland have social host liability laws?

Even though the state of Maryland does not have dram shop laws, the state does have social host liability laws. These laws provide that an adult who supplies alcohol to a minor in a private social situation can face criminal penalties for doing so. Keep in mind that this does not mean the host can be sued for any injuries or damages the intoxicated underage person causes.

With that being said, the penalties for providing alcohol to a minor are quite serious. A first offense can result in fines up to $2,500 and potential jail time. Second, third, and further offenses can result in fines up to $5,000.

How long do I have to file my claim in Maryland?

If you were injured because of the negligence of another and you would like to pursue legal action to recover financial compensation for your burdens, you will need to do so promptly. This is because the state of Maryland has a statute of limitations of three years for most personal injury claims. Reach out to our firm today to ensure you are meeting each of your claim’s deadlines.

Contact Our Firm

At McCarthy, Winkelman, Mester & Offutt, L.L.P., our legal team has a strong focus on litigation that seeks just and fair compensation for victims of another party’s negligence. If you need a Prince George’s County personal injury lawyer that handles cases in Maryland, Washington D.C., or Virginia, our firm has the resources and knowledge needed to take a case as far as necessary, including to the U.S. Supreme Court. If you suffered an injury or loss because of another person’s negligence, contact us today.

Blogs

IV bag hanging from rack

How Can I Prove a Maryland Property Owner Knew About Dangerous Property Conditions?

When a negligent property owner is the reason you are hurt, you must know how to prove they were aware of the dangerous property conditions.

Read More
pothole in road

Who Is Responsible for Injures Caused By Dangerous Road Conditions in Maryland?

If injured as a result of dangerous road conditions, understanding who can be held liable for damages is vital. Read on to learn more.

Read More
broken sidewalk

Can I Sue the City for an Unsafe Sidewalk?

Whether you’re walking your dog or enjoying the weather, walking outside is a great way to get active and get fresh air. As such, sidewalks are essential to keeping pedestrians safe from passing vehicles. However, when improperly maintained, these sidewalks can pose additional risks to those traveling by foot. If you are injured due to […]

Read More